Day 2 London Fashion Week SS16

Hello again,

Hopefully you all read my previous London Fashion Week post that went up yesterday? If not, then – rude, go back now and read it.

So, Day 2 saw designers such as Sibling, House of Holland and Gareth Pugh put their best fashion foot forward and showcase their spring/summer 2016 collections.

IMG_5645
Outfit details: Jaeger fur stole, Zara white shift dress

I saw Sibling’s show which was held at the new BFC Show Space, Brewer Street Car Park, in Soho. This has been the first season that the British Fashion Council has not used Somerset House as the main LFW location, causing quite a stir – both good and bad – amongst fashion lovers nationwide. I, myself, was quite hesitant when I found out it would be in Soho; I thought it was a bit of a feeble attempt to appear more ‘urban’ and ‘edgy’ within the fashion community. However, having been down it actually created a bit more a buzz in and around the shows.

IMG_5732

The space itself was huge, although it did feel like I climbed a fair few mountains (ramps) in order to get there – not ideal in a low cut dress and heeled boots. #Glam

I think the only thing that is a bit of a loss is not having Somerset House as a backdrop for all those #streetstyle #LFW #instagram #posts. There is something so grand and overwhelming about Somerset House. When I first visited it, I had to take one of those sharp breath in-takes like when you go to a cathedral and feel like “oh wow maybe God does exist” and then you remember that it’s just a building and no He doesn’t.

Here are some of my favourite pieces from Sibling:

IMG_5652 IMG_5656 IMG_5660 IMG_5662 IMG_5670 IMG_5673 IMG_5675

Also Susie Menkes was sat right in front of me and I didn’t even notice until the show ended and she was leaving! If you don’t know who she is, she is Vogue journalism ROYALTY and is usually recognisable by her signature quiff:

IMG_5677 IMG_5687

This sibling series is all about revealing, but not revealing too much; mesh, transparent PVC, and just a hint of nipple. It’s not my favourite of the season, but it is certainly striking and one I won’t forget.

You can watch the full Sibling show here (which FYI I am in for like a fraction of a second at the end):

Thanks for reading this second instalment! I’ll be back with more very shortly.

Love,
S

Leave a Reply

